The Oldest College Newspaper in Pennsylvania

The Lafayette

The Oldest College Newspaper in Pennsylvania

The Lafayette

The Oldest College Newspaper in Pennsylvania

The Lafayette

New members elected to Student Government executive board

Candidates for six out of eight Student Government executive board positions ran unopposed, with the Student Organizations and Athletic Affairs committees not having candidates. Only Fatimata Cham ’23 and Shreya Raizada ’25 faced opposition. (Photos courtesy of the incoming Student Government Executive Board)

As the 2022 spring semester comes to an end, the Lafayette College Student Government held elections for its Executive Board. The results were announced on the Student Government’s Instagram on April 29.

For the executive board: Fatimata Cham ’23 will be Vice President, Caitlin Mullooly ’24 will be Executive Secretary and Jordan Shaibani ’24 will be Treasurer.

For the committee directors: Shreya Raizada ’25 will head Equity and Inclusion, Johnathan Pursell ’23 will head Greek Life, Olivia Lattanzi ’23 will head Academic Affairs, Remy Oktay ’24 will head Sustainability, Kelsey Wong ’25 will head Student Services and Trebor Maitin ’24 will head Public Relations and Marketing.

After winning the contested race for Vice President, Cham expressed surprise at her own victory and praised the work of her opponent, Maitin. Cham cited her six semesters worth of experience with Student Government and the projects already under her belt as a precedent for her upcoming work in the position.

“It is because of these various experiences that I think I can make a significant change as VP because I am dedicated and motivated to working alongside other people to impact this campus,” Cham wrote in an email. “I am also passionate about uplifting underclassmen who want to get involved in student government or work on issues they see happening.”

Mullooly ran for Executive Secretary unopposed. Her platform centered around increased transparency for the organization, facilitating a smooth transition to the new structure and continuing to develop the textbook donation library started by the Academic Affairs Committee.

“I think my main vision has to do with the disconnect between the Student Government and the student body,” Mullooly wrote in an email. “As secretary, I would be in charge of both the general student government email which fields questions, and then I would also create a suggestion/concern virtual ‘box’ to have a targeted place to field questions and pass them on to committees, heads, etc.”

Raizada was the winner of the hotly-contested role of Equity and Inclusion Director, against Cham as well as K Massi ’23. Raizada praised her two opponents and thanked the multiple organizations which supported her election campaign, adding that her desire to create change stems from her passion for increasing equality on campus.

“Having spent one semester on the committee and working alongside various individuals such as Fatimata Cham and Flor de Maria Caceres Godoy, I was able to learn and grow as a leader and a person,” Raizada wrote in an email. “Not only this, but moving forward, I will be working in collaboration with various organizations on campus, something that has not been done very often in the past year with this committee specifically.”

The election winners’ terms will begin at the start of the 2022 fall semester on Aug. 29, 2022.

Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

If you wish for your response to an article to be submitted as a letter to the editor, please email [email protected].
All Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *