The Oldest College Newspaper in Pennsylvania

The Lafayette

The Oldest College Newspaper in Pennsylvania

The Lafayette

The Oldest College Newspaper in Pennsylvania

The Lafayette

Student government report

Feb. 1 meeting sees committees filled, reversal of bylaw amendment

Student Government’s Feb. 1 meeting covered a course selection progress report from the Student Affairs Faculty Committee, a recall vote on the illegitimate bylaw amendment passed the prior week and a committee chair election. 

Psychology professor Susan Wenze and math professor Allison Lewis, both representatives of the Student Affairs Committee, considered the possibility of a syllabus repository as a way to provide course selection information in the absence of student evaluation data. 

There were three syllabi repository options proposed on different platforms. The options included a new section on Banner Self-Service, a folder on Spaces or giving academic departments the choice to upload their syllabi on department-wide webpages. Wenze and Lewis weighed the pros and cons of each option.

The committee accepted feedback from Student Government members. Upon further discussions with department heads, there will be an open meeting with faculty and students after further initial feedback. 

After a vote on a bylaw amendment last week was found to violate the Student Government Constitution, President Thania Hernandez ‘25 apologized for the mistake. The previous vote was then rendered null.

Members shared their thoughts on whether or not this amendment was still a viable option, and there was a motion to rescind the amendment. Every member voted to cancel the amendment, aside from Nate Rashkind ‘26, who abstained from voting.

The committee chair election then took place for the start of each new term. Four out of five committee members ran unopposed.

Chelsey Cochrane ’25 is the new Academic Affairs committee chair, Bryan Kibet ’27 is the new Student Organization committee chair, Selina Zhu ’27 is the Equity & Inclusion committee chair and Colin Gray ’26 is the Sustainability committee chair.

For the Student Life committee chair, Alexandra Darrah ’25, Virginia Sacotingo ’25 and Kelsey Wong ’25 ran for the position. Sacotingo won the seat, and Wong resigned from Student Government the next day.

Leave a Comment
About the Contributors
Madeline Convy
Madeline Convy, Staff News Writer
Ari Ismail
Ari Ismail, Staff Photographer

Comments (0)

If you wish for your response to an article to be submitted as a letter to the editor, please email [email protected].
All Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *